Setting User Permissions

Administrators can set user permissions for others. Permissions can be set globally for all projects or separately for individual projects.

If you attempt to perform a task for which you do not have permission, you will be informed of this. You can then contact an administrator (identified by a crown on the user's avatar) to request permission for that activity.

Note User permissions can be set for those with the Author user type only, not for SMEs or Viewers.

Permission Required?

For this activity, you must have the following permission setting:

How to Set Permissions

  1. On the left side of the interface, click Users.
  2. In the grid, click the name of the user.
  3. On the left side of the dialog, click Permissions.
  4. From the Level field, select either Global Permissions or choose the name of a specific project. In order to see projects in the drop-down, the user must be assigned to them (see Associating Users With Teams and Projects).

    Note Setting Global Permissions affects all projects. If you select a permission globally, you cannot then deselect that permission for a specific project. Instead, you must first deselect the permission globally. After that, you can go to the permissions for each project and choose whether that option should be allowed.

  5. Select any of the check boxes to give the user the appropriate permissions in the system.

    • Administrative Adds check marks to all of the following administrator tasks.
      • Create/Edit Tasks Lets the user create and make changes to tasks. Users without this permission can view tasks only.
      • Delete Projects Lets the user permanently remove projects from MadCap Central. Projects on the user's desktop are not deleted.
      • Delete Teams Lets the user remove teams from MadCap Central.
      • Delete Users Lets the user delete others from MadCap Central license and remove all data associated with them (except project content).
      • Manage Output Analytics Keys Lets the user create, edit, or delete Analytics keys.
      • Manage Sites Lets the user create and manage sites, and features associated with sites, such as vanities, private outputs, URLs (domains), and themes.
      • Manage Teams/Projects Lets the user manage teams and projects in the following ways:
        • Teams Create teams, rename teams, and assign users and projects to teams.
        • Projects Set project-specific permissions, project status, and project name; assign users and teams to projects.
      • Purchasing Lets the user buy more seats and space.
      • Server Management Lets the user change the license key label and security options (e.g., number of login attempts allowed, password change requirements).
      • Slack Integration Lets the user connect channels from a Slack account to Central. This will then feed Central notifications to that Slack channel.
      • User Administration Makes the user a system-wide administrator. This person can then perform tasks such as inviting new users, resetting passwords, changing the status of users, and setting permissions for users.
    • Projects Adds check marks to all of the following project-related tasks.
      • Import/Pull Lets the user import projects and download content from projects on MadCap Central.
      • Push Lets the user upload content from desktop Flare projects to associated projects on MadCap Central.
      • Upload New Projects Lets the user upload Flare projects to MadCap Central, thereby adding copies of those projects to Central. A connection exists between the local and Central projects so that you can keep the files in sync.
      • Builds Adds check marks to all of the following output-related tasks.
        • Delete Builds Lets the user delete Flare output.
        • Manage Builds Lets the user mark a particular build as "keep."
        • Run/Schedule Builds Lets the user manually start or schedule builds for Flare projects.
        • View/Download Builds Lets the user view generated output and download it to the desktop.
  6. Click Save.

Table of Activities and Permissions

The following table provides an overview of the activities that users can perform, depending on their level of permissions.

Activity

Permission Required

Messages

No Special Permission Required

Projects and Builds

Changing the Status of a Project

(Active, Archive, Lock)

Must be Associated with the Project

Must be Associated with the Project

Must be Part of the Review Process for the File

Must be Associated with the Project

Must be Associated with the Project

Must be Associated with the Project

Pulling Content (Committing and Synchronizing in a Single-Bound Model)

(Retrieve content from Central to desktop Flare projects; applies only to those working in a single-bound source control model—see Single-Bound Projects)

Pushing in a Dual-Bound Model

Pushing in a Single-Bound Model (Committing and Synchronizing in a Single-Bound Model)

(Upload content from desktop Flare projects to Central)

Must be Part of the Review Process for the File

Must be Associated with the Project

Must be Associated with the Project

No Special Permission Required

Server

Sites

Tasks

Moving Tasks

(Move tasks to milestones—To Do, In Progress, Completed—as well as to Archive and Backlog)

No Special Permission Required

Teams

Translation

Must be Associated with the Project

Users

No Special Permission Required

Deactivating Users

(Keep users in system, but remove their ability to log in and work; creates empty seats for other users)

No Special Permission Required

No Special Permission Required

No Special Permission Required

Widgets

No Special Permission Required

No Special Permission Required

No Special Permission Required

No Special Permission Required