Team Permissions

In addition to user permissions, you can now set permissions for teams. Users associated with the team would then have all of those permissions that are selected.

Permission Required?

For this activity, you must have the following permission settings:

For more information about permissions, see Setting User Permissions or Setting Team Permissions.

Team vs. User Permissions

Team permissions do not create a conflict with user permissions. If a user is assigned a permission that is set either in the user profile or the team profile, that person simply has the permission on that license. In other words, there are simply two places now where a user can be given permissions.

Example In the user profile, a person has been given the Create/Edit Tasks permission. In the team profile, the person has not been given that permission.

Result: the user has the Create/Edit Tasks permission.

In the user profile, a person has not been given the Push permission. In the team profile, the person has been given that permission.

Result: the user has the Push permission.

How to Set Team Permissions

  1. On the left side of the interface, click Teams.
  2. In the grid, click the avatar or name of the team.
  3. On the left side of the dialog, click Permissions.
  4. From the Level field, select either Global Permissions or choose the name of a specific project. In order to see projects in the drop-down, the user must be assigned to them (see Associating Users With Teams and Projects).

    Note Setting Global Permissions affects all projects. If you select a permission globally, you cannot then deselect that permission for a specific project. Instead, you must first deselect the permission globally. After that, you can go to the permissions for each project and choose whether that option should be allowed.

  5. Select any of the check boxes to give the team (and therefore the associated users) the appropriate permissions in the system.

    • Administrative Adds check marks to all of the following administrator tasks.
      • Create/Edit Tasks Lets the user create and make changes to tasks. Users without this permission can view tasks only.
      • Delete Projects Lets the user permanently remove projects from MadCap Central. Projects on the user's desktop are not deleted.
      • Delete Teams Lets the user remove teams from MadCap Central.
      • Delete Users Lets the user delete others from MadCap Central license and remove all data associated with them (except project content).
      • Manage Output Analytics Keys Lets the user create, edit, or delete Analytics keys.
      • Manage Sites Lets the user create and manage sites, and features associated with sites, such as vanities, private outputs, and themes.
      • Manage Teams/Projects Lets the user manage teams and projects in the following ways:
        • Teams Create teams, rename teams, and assign users and projects to teams.
        • Projects Set project-specific permissions, project status, and project name; assign users and teams to projects.
      • Purchasing Lets the user buy more seats and space.
      • Server Management Lets the user set up URLs (domains), as well as change the license key label and security options (e.g., number of login attempts allowed, password change requirements).
      • Slack Integration Lets the user connect channels from a Slack account to Central. This will then feed Central notifications to that Slack channel.
      • User Administration Makes the user a system-wide administrator. This person can then perform tasks such as inviting new users, resetting passwords, changing the status of users, and setting permissions for users.
    • Projects Adds check marks to all of the following project-related tasks.
      • Import/Pull Lets the user import projects and download content from projects on MadCap Central.
      • Push Lets the user upload content from desktop Flare projects to associated projects on MadCap Central.
      • Scan Lets the user scan a project manually in the Reports view.
      • Upload New Projects Lets the user upload Flare projects to MadCap Central, thereby adding copies of those projects to Central. A connection exists between the local and Central projects so that you can keep the files in sync.
      • Builds Adds check marks to all of the following output-related tasks.
        • Delete Builds Lets the user delete Flare output.
        • Manage Builds Lets the user mark a particular build as "keep."
        • Run/Schedule Builds Lets the user manually start or schedule builds for Flare projects.
        • View/Download Builds Lets the user view generated output and download it to the desktop.
  6. Click Save.