Viewing Project Commits

After opening a project in Central, you can use a couple of different views to see your files and commits associated with a project.

[Menu Proxy — Headings — Online — Depth3 ]

Permission Required?

No special permission is required for this activity. All authors who are associated with the project are allowed.

Commits View

A commit is a collection of changes in a local Flare project that are pushed up to Central in order to keep the files synchronized. It is up to you to decide which changes are included in a commit, before you continue making further changes that go into the next commit after that. Adding a comment to each commit is a good idea, because it is an easy way to see what types of changes are included in that commit.

Example You might open a topic in Flare, type a couple of paragraphs, and insert an image. If you decide to commit all of that work, those changes are consolidated into a single commit.

Then you continue editing five other topics in your project. If you create another commit with all your work, those changes are consolidated into a second commit.

When you’re ready, you can push both of those commits up to Central.

If you want to view details about your commits on Central, you can open the Projects page, then click Commits on the right side.

All of the commits for the project are listed, with the most recent one at the top.

If you click View Commit for any of the items, you will often see two versions of the files involved in that commit. The code for the previous version of the file is shown with a red background, and the new version is shown with a green background.

You can use the following buttons to switch between a unified view and a side-by-side view:

In a unified view, with the differences are stacked on top of one another. In a side-by-side view, the differences look like this:

If you use the buttons in the main toolbar, this view will be applied to all files in the commit. If you use the local buttons, the view will be applied only to that file.

You can also use the following buttons to show or hide differences:

Sometimes a commit might show code on only one side of the page or the other. This usually happens when you have added or deleted a file in the project.