Moving Tasks

You can move tasks between milestones (To Do, In Progress, Completed), or up and down in a milestone to change the order. You can also move tasks to the Backlog and Archive areas. Tasks can be moved by dragging them, or by using menu options.

Permission Required?

To move a task to a milestone, or to the Archive or Backlog, you must have the following permission setting:

For more information about permissions, see Setting User Permissions.

How to Move Tasks to Milestones by Dragging

  1. On the left side of the interface, click Tasks.
  2. At the top of the page, select Board (if it is not already selected).
  3. Locate the task card, then click and drag it to one of the other milestone columns (To Do, In Progress, Completed).

    Note You cannot drag tasks to the Archive or Backlog area. You can only drag them to the milestone columns.

How to Move Tasks to Change the Order

  1. On the left side of the interface, click Tasks.
  2. At the top of the page, select Board (if it is not already selected).
  3. Locate the task card, then click and drag it up or down in its milestone column.

    Note You can also open a task and change the position field (e.g., 1 is the top). For example, entering 7 in the pos field will position the task as the seventh from the top, if you have that many tasks in the milestone already)

How to Move Tasks Using Menu Options

  1. On the left side of the interface, click Tasks.
  2. At the top of the page, select Board (if it is not already selected).
  3. Locate the task card and right-click it.
  4. In the context menu, select Move. Then choose the location where you want to move the task.

Note You also open a task, click Move in the upper-right corner, and use the context menu.

How to Move Tasks Out of Backlog or Archive

  1. On the left side of the interface, click Tasks.
  2. At the top of the page, select Backlog or Archive.
  3. In the grid, click the name of the task.
  4. In the upper-right corner of the dialog, select Move.
  5. In the context menu, select the location where you want to move the task.
  6. Click Save.