Associating Users With Teams and Projects

Administrators can associate users with teams and projects in the system.

  • Associating users with teams makes it easier to send messages to those who are designated as authors on the license, as well as to see the activity for a team of users in one place. Also, if you intend to have private output (i.e., output where users must log in), it is necessary to associate those users (authors, SMEs, or viewers) with a team, and then associate that team with the appropriate site.
  • Associating users with projects gives those users access to specific projects. Without access to a project, a user—even an administrator—cannot open that project to view it or work in it.

When creating a team, you can associate both projects and users with it at the same time. So the following steps are really intended for additional users that you want to associate with existing teams and projects.

Permission Required?

For this activity, you must have the following permission setting:

For more information about permissions, see Setting User Permissions.

How to Associate Users With Teams and Projects

  1. Make sure you have already created the team(s) and/or uploaded the Flare project(s).
  2. On the left side of the interface, click Users.
  3. Click the user’s name.
  4. On the left, click Teams & Projects.
  5. In the upper-right, click Edit.
  6. You can use the Teams tab to select teams, making the user a member of them.
  7. You can click the Projects tab and select any uploaded Flare projects, associating the user with them.
  8. Click Save.

Note When you assign a user to a team—and that team is associated with a project—the user automatically becomes associated with that project as well. This is indicated by a gray background for those projects in the dialog. In this case, you cannot disassociate the project from the user directly. Instead, you must remove the user from the team, and the user will then no longer be associated with the project.